WHAT: Sibley Leadership Award
WHEN: October 25, 1996
WHERE: Ballet Austin Dinner, Texas Memorial Museum
CONTACT: Nan Schwetman (512) 476-6064 or 343-6513 (evenings, weekends)


The Jane Dunn Sibley Award for Outstanding Cultural Arts Leadership will be presented to an Austin cultural arts leader on Friday, October 25, at a dinner at the Texas Memorial Museum hosted by Ballet Austin prior to its opening performance of "Don Quixote." The Sibley Leadership Award was created in 1985 by the Austin Symphony Executive Board to recognize an individual who epitomizes, through sustained leadership and results over the years, the effort to enhance the arts and cultural climate of Austin and its environs. For twenty-five years the President of the Austin Symphony and currently its Chairman of the Board, Mrs. Sibley was the original recipient of the award named in her honor; other recipients have been Roberta Crenshaw, Alfred King, and Dr. W.H. "Deacon" Crain. The award was last presented in 1992 to Dr. Crain.

Although sponsored and presented by the Austin Symphony Orchestra Society, the Sibley Leadership Award is given to an individual chosen by a Selection Committee composed of either the President of Chairman of each of Austin’s long-established major arts organizations: the Austin Symphony, the Austin Lyric Opera, Ballet Austin, Paramount Theatre and Zachary Scott Theatre Center. The award recipient will not be announced until the Ballet Austin dinner on October 25, at which he or she will be presented with a Baccarat crystal pyramid.

For more information on the Sibley Leadership Award presentation, call Nan Schwetman at 476-6064.

All programs, artists and dates are subject to change.

[email protected]

Copyright © 1994-1996 Quadralay Corporation. All rights reserved.